In the beginning: The Newspaper of the neighborhood

In the beginning: The Newspaper of the neighborhood Your future begins in your nature.
If you look back, you can sometimes find your career in your beginnings.
The way you gather and organize classmates. The way you ask questions and tally votes, or interview your classmates. Correct people’s grammar. Take care of an injured cat. Fix things around the house that are broken.
The only thing it seemed I could do was tell stories. Usually by airing my family’s dirty laundry. Whatever was happening. I liked to tell it.
So I was called, early on, “The Newspaper of the Neighborhood.”
Unfortunately, this only encouraged me.
My stories after awhile, were written down in crude “book” form – notebook paper stapled together and illustrated by my best friend. Then short stories.
And eventually they led me to journalism in college.
But the stories, and story telling, are always a part of me.

And now when they say that a PR professional is really a company’s story teller, I have to agree. And thank my family.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.